Baylor Health Care SystemAbout B

Serving all people by providing personalized health and wellness through exemplary care, education and research.

Need something? Call us: 1.800.4BAYLOR(1.800.422.9567)
Text Size
Baylor Health Care System > About > Leadership > Baylor Leadership > David J. Ballard, MD, MSPH, PhD, FACP, CMM

David J. Ballard, MD, MSPH, PhD, FACP, CMM 

Chief Quality Officer

Baylor Scott & White Health

& President of STEEEP Global Institute

Baylor Health Care System

As chief quality officer for Baylor Scott & White Health, Dr. Ballard is responsible for designing, implementing and evaluating clinical quality improvement initiatives across the system. BHCS has been recognized by many organizations for its health care improvement accomplishments under Dr. Ballard’s leadership, including the 2007 Leapfrog Patient-Centered Care Award, the 2008 National Quality Healthcare Award of the National Quality Forum and the 2010 Medical Group Preeminence Award of the American Medical Group Association.

In July 2011, Dr. Ballard was appointed president of the STEEEP Global Institute to provide health care performance improvement products and services to health care delivery organizations throughout the world. In 2012, Dr. Ballard was appointed as chair of the newly formed STEEEP/Best Care Governance Council to provide oversight, set strategy and direction, and effectively prioritizes those initiatives and operational functions that fall within the six domains of STEEEP (Safe, Timely, Effective, Efficient, Equitable, Patient-Centered) care across BHCS. The STEEEP Governance Council is now being scaled across BSWH under Dr. Ballard’s leadership. He also serves on the board of managers of The Heart Hospital Baylor Plano and of the BHCS-Kessler/Select rehabilitation and long term care joint venture. Dr. Ballard also is a member of the executive committee of the High Value Healthcare Collaborative of which Baylor is a member.

Prior to joining Baylor in 1999, Dr. Ballard held progressive academic appointments as assistant and then associate professor at the Mayo Medical School, as associate professor with tenure at the University of Virginia School of Medicine and as professor of medicine with tenure in the Emory University School of Medicine and professor of epidemiology in The Rollins School of Public Health of Emory University. David’s leadership roles have included service as founding head of the Mayo Section of Health Services Evaluation and as senior associate consultant and consultant in the Department of Health Science Research (1986-91), founding president of Kerr L. White Institute for Health Services Research (1991-9), and president of the International Society for Quality in Health Care (2001-3). He served as chair of the Health Care Quality and Effectiveness Research study section for the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) from 2006 through 2010 and Review Panel Chair for the Patient Centered Care Outcomes Research Institute and for AHRQ’s RFA-HS-12-004 (Building the Science of Public Reporting). He served as chair-elect of AHRQ’s Centers for Education and Research on Therapeutics Steering Committee in 2011 and 2012, and is now full chair for 2013 and 2014.

He has been a member of many National Quality Forum committees, including its National Quality Healthcare Award Blue Ribbon Review Panel and National Voluntary Consensus Standards for Hospital Care: Specialty Physician Measures which he co-chaired. He co-chaired the Joint Commission’s Blood Management Performance Measures Project Technical Advisory Panel. He has also served as a member of the American Hospital Association’s Dick Davidson Quality Milestone Award for Allied Association Leadership selection committee for 2011 and 2012. He currently serves as expert panelist for the American Idol in Medicine project of the Stanford University Clinical Excellence Research Center funded by the Peter G. Peterson Foundation. He is a member of the foundation board for UNC School of Public Health and a member on the board of trustees of The Lawrenceville School. In addition, he has previously held a board appointment for the Texas Hospital Association. Dr. Ballard received in 2008 the Distinguished Alumnus Award of the UNC School of Medicine. 
Dr. Ballard serves on several editorial boards, including Health Services Research, the Journal of Comparative Effectiveness Research and the Mayo Clinic Proceedings (for which he serves as Health Policy Section Editor). He has published 150+ PubMed listed manuscripts and is a 1995 recipient of the AcademyHealth New Investigator Award, given annually to the outstanding health services research scholar in the United States less than 40 years of age and a 2012 recipient of the John M. Eisenberg Article-of-the-Year in Health Services Research. His book on the BHCS health care quality improvement journey, Achieving STEEEP Health Care, was published in 2013. 

A native of Lexington, Ky., Dr. Ballard graduated with Academic Distinction from The Lawrenceville School. A board-certified internist, he trained at the Mayo Graduate School of Medicine following completion of degrees in chemistry, economics, epidemiology and medicine at the University of North Carolina where he was a Morehead Scholar, and North Carolina Fellow and junior year Phi Beta Kappa inductee.